A Fantastico Experience

I’ve travelled a lot throughout my life. So many trips have done with family and friends, have gone abroad for official purposes. But, there are very few trips which are literally unforgettable. Travelling is always a fun and in that sense, every trip means happiness. Still, there memories and incidents associated with some journey that make them very much special. The fond memories of such a trip are very close to my heart and perhaps, it would ever be.

I was in Bengaluru for about 8 months in 2012. I was totally a stranger in the city with no acquaintances, let alone friends. In fact, I was transferred on an emergency basis to serve a client based there. It was a temporary shift and the hike offered was pretty decent. So, technically, there was nothing to complain.

I’m not a workaholic but I wanted to finish the project as soon as possible and, worked for hours on weekdays, felt totally sapped out on weekends and slept. That there was no friends or nowhere to go about, didn’t bother me. My company arranged my stay in an apartment. The only person I used to talk there with was another boy who lived on the same floor, just opposite to my 1 BHK flat. He was living there alone too, the flat belonged to one of his relatives. He was known as Iyengar and was from some village.

One Saturday morning, he knocked at my door. It was only 7.30 am and I was fast asleep. I opened the door with a big question-mark written quite unmistakeably on my face. He smiled wryly and said, suddenly he got a call from his mother that his father has fallen ill and might need to be hospitalized as said by the local doctor. He had to go home and he asked me whether I could accompany him for there were a lot of things to take care of in case the hospitalization was needed. There being no one in the house except his mother, he might need some help.

I had to agree because there was no other option. We left for his village on his bike at about 9 am. He told me it would take about 5-6 hours to reach there.

There is nothing much to say about the road trip. We reached his village in a little more than five hours. The good news was his father was recovering. The things that made me overwhelmed was the treatment I got from his family and fellow villagers. They were eager to show their gratitude in every possible way. During lunch, Iyengar’s mother served home-made delicacies. She lamented that they were strict vegetarians and, so had nothing to offer as per my choice. I would never forget her kind words, it mattered a lot because Tamil Brahmins are quite conservative in this respect. I said her several times I actually enjoyed the food and she needed not to worry. She was not very proficient in English, with a limited vocabulary, she tried her best to show her love and kindness. I realized where love speaks, language can’t stand as a bar. The love I received in those two days from some unknown people would be a treasured. And all because I accompanied their son as he needed help.

The innocence, kindness and love I received from absolute strangers have made that trip one of the most memorable ones of my life. A fantastico experience of a different type, so to say.

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

