My Guide

brandcover

In our childhood, we all have heroes. Hero-worship is something every child rears in his/her mind. In my case, my hero was the person who had a great impact on my life as a whole. As a child we, me and my sister, used to miss our father a lot. He had a job which demanded extensive travelling and, most of the times he was out of the town. We were always eager to hear from him but, those were the days when an ISD call was too expensive and, we had to be satisfied talking to him once or twice a month.

I was in fourth standard when uncle, my father’s younger brother and his wife, Manisha aunty shifted to Mumbai and came to share our household. Ours was a spacious house so, there was no problem with it. Moreover, as Dad was away most of the times, I was more than happy finding a father figure in him.

Unlike other guardians, uncle was very much amicable and soon our friendship became stronger. He encouraged me in other activities also other than studies. He firmly believed in the teachings of Swami Vivekananda, “All power is within you; you can do anything and everything.” He always used to say that a healthy mind resides in a healthy body. Physical exercises were of utmost importance to him.

Once there was an inter-school football match and, I was playing in the midfield position. On the semi-final, we defeated the opponent team but as an attacking midfielder, I faced a rough tackle. By the evening, my ankle swelled up like a balloon. I was crying helplessly as I knew my team would become weak without me and, the final was just a day away! Uncle immediately consulted the doctor. After the doctor was gone, he told me,”Look, beta whether you’ll be able to play the final, doesn’t only depend on the medication. It also depends on your will-power and determination and strength of mind. Believe in yourself and say, ‘I can do it’.”

His words made me strong. I told myself, I have to do it for my team. And I did play the final. The pain was there, but, uncle’s words helped me to ignore it for a greater good.

He was my friend, philosopher and guide, in the truest sense. He taught me the ways of life. He taught me how to take even the toughest of decisions with a clear mind. When I opted for commerce instead of science, everyone was disappointed in the family. Only uncle was by my side and again he said, “A person should study a subject according to his will. Education should not be an imposed thing. In that case, it loses its charm and becomes a burden.”

He actually held the light showing me the right path every time. He has made a me self-dependent and self-reliant person who can weigh his own decisions properly without getting biased. I’ve learnt the prudence of savings from him. We can face every mishap if  we are financially sound. A little wisdom and  systematic planning can make our life easier, we can combat the adverse forces when needed. A family prospers when there is enough financial support to fulfill every dream, to stand against every adversity. My Uncle taught me that, “Apno ko aapne dum pe jeena sikhao”….that was his motto.

Destiny sometimes plays with us. But we should have the courage and strength to stand against it. Only then, we can say #MyFamilyMyPride. At www.hdfclife.com, they are sharing the same message. Think about the safety, security and dreams of your family and invest wisely. Let your family flourish, with systematic savings and insurance plan.

Watch this wonderful touching video. It’ll make you understand the wisdom of insurance.

This post is written as a part of the Indi Happy Hour Campaign “Apno Ko Apne Dum Pe Jeena Sikhao” in association with www.hdfclife.com and Indiblogger.

Image Courtesy: Indiblogger & hdfcLife

Leave a Reply

